Is Lola to Be Blamed?

I had to think long and hard before posting the story, but  the point of this blog is to share good and bad, sad and happy…

On Mother’s Day,  Sophie, Duke and Lola were headed in the back yard, through the sunroom, as Max, the African Grey, kept  directing them: ” Get out, out, and go pee!! Go, go go!” It’s been a while since I entrasted Max with the morning directions. he does a good job!

As the three dogswent through the sunroom, I saw a bird flying around trying to get out of the room.

How did she get in? I don’t know, but I opened the side door, the dogs went out and I thought the trapped bird will follow them and fly to freedom.

I went to make my morning coffee and in a few minutes I followed my pack outside in the back yard. to enjoy their morning play and sip my coffee. Another Mother’s Day away from my girls! I didn’t want to shed tears, I didn’t want to focus on my sadness and loneliness. I was going to enjoy my furry children, enjoy and love them with all my heart. I didn’t feel lonely anymore as I watched them care free running around.

Lola was happily eating something… what was it?

Oh my God! feathers! Oh no, Lola ate the bird!

I scolded her. She wagged her tail and looked me in the eyes:

“Something wrong?”

I dumpped the coffee and my morning snack…

Lola is a retreiver, nature designed her to go after prey, to her it was an act of accomplishment.

Should I scold her? It would have been pointless!

As I was ready to accept  “nature,” the mommy bird flew over my head, food in her mouth, searching for her baby. She was crying a desperate cry which pierced the air and went streight into my motherly heart! I felt her pain, if that could be possible, for me, a human mother to feel a bird mother’s pain for loosing her baby.

My heart skipped a beat! The mommy bird kept circling around  searching in vain!. There was nothing I could do, nothing I could say, we didn’t  speak the same language, or perhaps we didn, the language of motherly love which is unconditional, no matter where our babies were or were not.

Lola wagged her tail.

I  wipped my tears.

The mommy-bird kept searched for her baby in vain.

Life went on!

   

 

About lifewithbblola

For the love of writing and pets I was inspired to start this new blog, Life with BB Lola (for Beautiful and Brilliant) For more on the author, please visit my book's site, www.thegypsysawtwolives.com or my other blogs on Word Press.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

