I Love YOU, but I Love Her More…

I hope this true and a little painful story helps others. I have had dog companions all my life, and I should have known better, but I didn’t.

This afternoon, I found a tick on Sophie, my 11-year old Westy. Ticks and consequently the horror of possible lyme disease made me try, foolishly, to get the tick out by myself. Poor Sophie tried to escape and the puppy, Lola, got so upset I seem to “hurt” Sophie, that she first growled at me and since I didn’t respond she bit me, so I had to let go of Sophie. Lola was protecting Sophie against me. I am still confused, Should I have been upset? Is this normal?

The lessons I learned, is that  I should have called the vet since the tick was deeply enbeded into poor Sophie and the danger of lyme is very real. Lesson 2, I should have already had their collars on to protect them against ticks. Lesson 3, no matter how much Lola “loves” me, the human she depends on for food, shelter, love, when she thought her  “older”  buddie was being hurt, she protected her. Frankly, I am in a way happy Lola instinctively made that choice, but does that make me a weak pack leader?

. Many times they growl at each other and I wondered about their feelings, but most times they play nicely. Lola has brought so much “spunk” into the relationship among the three of them, so much joy to the whole household.. Sophie behaves like a puppy again. The older dogs are re-energized, they run,  play and interract more. I guess the intergenerational living  together works for dogs too. The innocence of  youth and the wisdomof maturity! Nevermind that I got bitten, I guess some lessons are painful, but they are better learned and certainly remembered. Next time I try to “perform surgery” on one of my dogs, I will make sure we are alone.

If you had a similar experience, or if you think ImageLola shouldn’t have protected Sophie against me, no matter what, please leave a comment. Thank you.    

About lifewithbblola

For the love of writing and pets I was inspired to start this new blog, Life with BB Lola (for Beautiful and Brilliant) For more on the author, please visit my book's site, www.thegypsysawtwolives.com or my other blogs on Word Press.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

